Topic: Help with Drums!

Print this page

1.Help with Drums! Copy to clipboard
Posted by: abba_freak
Posted on: Jun 6, 2005 3:23 PM

Hi!

I've been playing drums for 6 years and I really need a new kit. I have a really old kit and I don't even think the brand is known because no stores sell it. I'm thinking of getting either Gretsch Renown Maples or Tama Starclassic Maples. Any Suggestions, Advice or other brands?

2.Re:Help with Drums! [Re: abba_freak] Copy to clipboard
Posted by: RvJim
Posted on: Jun 6, 2005 3:25 PM

Have you considered Ludwig?? THey make amazing drums for a reasonable price tag.. But as most people here will tell you just go to heaps of drum stores and play as many kinds of ktis in your price range as possible and let your senses tell you what kit to buy.

3.Re:Help with Drums! [Re: abba_freak] Copy to clipboard
Posted by: MRPHDRUM21
Posted on: Jun 6, 2005 3:54 PM

not ludwig

4.Re:Help with Drums! [Re: abba_freak] Copy to clipboard
Posted on: Jun 6, 2005 3:56 PM

Why not Ludwig?

5.Re:Help with Drums! [Re: abba_freak] Copy to clipboard
Posted by: psychodrummer
Posted on: Jun 6, 2005 4:34 PM

I play Renowns. They're amazing drums for what you pay for them. I would never trade them for a Starclassic kit. The way I have them tuned they sing. Here's a sound clip:

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=4593&alid=-1

I also got some video clips of me playing them in the general discussion. The sound isn't as good, but you do get to hear more of the toms. I love my Renowns.

6.Re:Help with Drums! [Re: abba_freak] Copy to clipboard
Posted by: snarehead88
Posted on: Jun 6, 2005 4:37 PM

Definitly the Gretsch Renowns OR a Ludwig drumset. To me both are better than TAMA. Advice...Play both of the kits along with a nice ludwig set, narrrow it down to 2 again by things you like or didnt like, then research them both as much as possible and decide on the kit you liked best for sound,looks,hardware,quality etc. whatever. Choose well abba Padawan.